Nesting Part 2 – the finishing touches

We have a date! The coutdown is on! 3-3-13 is The Wife’s induction date, which in blog terms is fortunate because both Americans and people who write dates properly will read it as the same date. Buddhists unfortunately would read this as me having a son aged 544 with it currently being the year 2557, can’t please everyone I suppose. Anyway I digress.

With the bestowal of a date the offensive against all things grime has intensified, a “Shock and Awe” approach to bacteria seems to have paid off. I have hoovered places in our house that I didn’t know hoovers could go.

The Boy’s room is painted, the buggy (stroller) with “whoomph folding” is built, the basinet is assembled, the clothes are washed and stacked in age order and the formerly ridiculous 4 x 4 now has a “capsule” bolted in place. I am no longer driving a Remuera Tractor, it is now a Dad Mobile. I am a little sad the “capsule” won’t live up to it’s name, it isn’t going into orbit or to the moon (yes, I know, technically also in orbit) it will be going to the Supermarket and maybe even a longer mission into town, to get a coffee. “The Eagle has landed, can I have two decaf mochas and a Latte”, “It’s one small step for man, and a Cappuchino for Dad”.

Needless to say I am very Very VERY excited …….. and nervous. Wish me luck!

6 Comments

Filed under Baby, Dads, Nerd, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Nesting Part 2 – the finishing touches

  1. It feels like my husband and I just had our daughter although she’s almost eight months old now. I remember getting everything ready in anticipation for her arrival. I wish you both the best!

  2. Thanks! We are just about ready …. I think

  3. We Americans bugger everything up…even dates. haha. Good luck with that little nerd of yours!

  4. Hope everything goes smoothly mate.

    By the way, I have nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. Go to http://projectsouthsea.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/the-liebster-blog-award/ to find out more.

Leave a Reply

