Eduerfnedahcs?

Everywhere I look online there are pictures of smiling perfect babies. Yummy Mummy bloggers giving sage advice on how to corral their perfect smiling offspring, whilst baking award winning cakes and keeping the house as clean as an operating theatre. I sit in my uncleaned swamp, trying to remember what day of the week it is and how long it is since  cleaned my teeth whilst rocking a grizzly baby. These wholesome mega-mums do nothing to elevate my mood.

Is there a term for experiencing misery at other’s good fortune (other than “being an ass hole”), the inverse of schadenfreude?  Eduerfnedahcs?

I thought I ought to redress the balance for other grumpy bastards like me online. Here is my photographic contribution to combat the angel-baby invasion. The Boy went for a passport photo, he was not amused.

The Boy - NOT AMUSED

The Boy – NOT AMUSED

I seem to have an ally in this endeavuour to spread a little baby-misery around the web. Reasons my son is crying is a Tumblr feed of someone else’s child being a complete toe rag. It made me feel better.

5 Comments

April 18, 2013 · 11:13 am

5 responses to “Eduerfnedahcs?

  1. I put the smiling, cute ones on the internet. The grumpy crying ones go on our living room wall. Y’know—for when he starts to date.

  2. Haha! Keep it going with the miserable baby photos. This prevents giving people a false impression of parenthood. If anything, you are doing the world a service.

    Anyways, I nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award’. Check out http://projectsouthsea.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/ for more details.

  3. Don’t worry, you have much more grumpiness to look forward to, wait until he hits his teens 😉

Leave a Reply

