Nerds are awesome? Really?

So, Will “Wesley-Crusher” Wheaton says nerds are awesome. They are awesome because they love TV or something else and get obsessed? That’s awesome? Really? No!

Nerds are awesome, but not necessarily for the reasons he gives. There is nothing cool about being engrossed in something obscure for hours on end, often without any useful outcome. Being able to name every Star Trek Voyager character in order of appearance is impressive but useless. NOT awesome.

We will always be the inept kids in the playground who can’t kick a soccer ball straight but can count to ten in Swahili. The kid that sits on the school bus reading a book and not blowing spitwads at the girls. We will be the ones that are picked last at sports, the ones that come last in races, the ones the popular kids despise and the rest of the kids try and ignore.

What these popular cool kids don’t understand is that us nerdy-geeky-losers with spots, glasses and unfashionable hair will grow up and will also be the ones that treat their cancer, that make their cars safer, plan their towns, the ones that keep their power stations and water running and possibly even the ones that design the computer they use at their till in Mc Donalds. They will need us. They will need us far more than we need them.

Being a nerd IS awesome. But not because I have an unhealthy interest in Firefly or that I get engrossed in making idiotically complex cups of tea. It’s awesome because through being nerdy I am now treating peoples diseases and changing lives. As a doctor I am nothing special, but being a doctor IS special. I will never need the validation of others to tell me I am worthwhile. I don’t give two hoots about how “fashionable” my hair is or how “on trend” my shoes are. My hair is the same mess it was when I was 15. My shoes are the same boring black ones they were in school. Nobody cares. The cool kids are still trying to be cool, now competing with the cooler younger people emerging behind them. Their “Glory Days” of being the popular kid are gone, it’s downhill from here Mr/Ms Former Sports Captain, your sun is setting. The nerds have plodded on and have transcended the nonsense.

Nerds will always overcome, we will always be there and it’s no longer a case of us jokingly saying “Nerds will inherit the earth”, WE HAVE ALREADY GOT IT!

4 Comments

Filed under Dads, fatherhood, Nerd, Parenting

4 responses to “Nerds are awesome? Really?

  1. This is spot on! I love it!

  2. Great article…. I agree the current trend in current Geek culture is just a fad and everyone thinks they are a nerd because they know how to use facebook or twitter. A nerd is someone who actually uses their brain most of the time. Sure we may get tunnel vision and obsess over a few things but that’s because our brains are wired differently.

    http://bigdaddynerd.blogspot.com/2013/08/Grow-Smart-Kids.html

  3. You know, I really enjoy reading your blog posts. I think you need more veiwers and followers because your blog is so awesome I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. You can view my post and the rules here:
    http://confessionsofanerdswife.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/random-awesomeness/
    Keep up the great writing!

  4. Pingback: NERD HEROES | A Dad's Guide To Growing A Nerd

Leave a Reply

